New Star Wars Black Series Figures Pre-Orders.

Just yesterday Hasbro revealed a number of new figures in the Black Series line. This is the start of the Gifts of The Galaxy program which will be every Tuesday in the run-up to Christmas so expect some Star Wars product reveals every week (not necessarily Black Series figures). The reveals are:

  • Star Wars The Force Unleashed Starkiller – part of the Baylan Skoll wave
  • A New Hope Darth Vader – part of the new Best Of line
  • The Mandalorian R4-6D0 – Walmart Collector Con Exclusive
  • The Mandalorian (Mines of Mandalore)

I think Hasbro hinted that they’ll be doing a Best Of line during SDCC. Though I am a bit confused about it as I thought it would replace the Archive line, it’s running concurrently with it. I can guess from the first figure in the line is a New Hope Darth Vader and he also appears in the Archive line soon as well. I think this line works to get older figures that were released in the red and black boxes waves in the new window packaging with the spine art. I’d be curious to see if we get some complete redo’s in this line like ROTS Anakin & Obi-Wan. I’d be very interested to know more about this line.

They revealed R4-6D0 during their SDCC panel I think. I know that it’s reusing the new Astromech body that the recent ROTJ R2-D2 used which is correctly scaled. I have not got any Astromech droids in my Black Series displays so I’ll definitely be interested in getting this one.

The real head-scratcher for me from these reveals is the new Mandalorian figure which looks very close to the upcoming Book of Boba Fett version. However, this one comes with a plastic cape rather than a fabric one and no jetpack. Though he still comes with his blaster, darksaber, and knife. I can’t see any visual differences in his costume either. So this is a rather odd release in my opinion. So I think I’ll stick to the upcoming BoBF version as my main version of Mando at the moment.

We knew when they released the deluxe The Force Unleashed set that we would be getting a solo release of Starkiller in the main line. I’ve noticed on his packaging that it has the Star Wars Legends logo on it, which is the first time I’ve seen that on any of the packages. Just as I expected it would be a bare-bones version with only a lightsaber and none of the extra heads or hands that the set version came with. Even though I got the deluxe version I’d definitely be very interested in getting this one as well to display with a different head and hands. Hopefully, it won’t take too long to see more characters from the Force Unleashed games in the Black Series line. All of these figures are going up for pre-order later today.

Author: Samuel Cooper

A passionate action figure collector who's been collecting for nine years. A big fan of NECA, Hasbro, Diamond Select, Mezco & McFarlane Toys

Leave a comment